Daddy Left Me,But Mommy Saved Me

When you lose a parent your whole world changes.Its like a part of your heart breaks off when that person goes.I lost my dad in 2011 and I felt like my world was coming to an end.He had been very sick since he returned from a trip in Nigeria.When he became sick, it just seemed like he started to lose Faith.He lost faith in himself and most importantly God.My dad stopped attending church and he was forced to stop working. He just wasn’t himself any more.

The man I knew that didn’t give up was on the road to giving up.No matter what I was always there for him I would attend all his doctor appointments with him.It was days I missed school to just go with him.But he still just wasn’t himself He was slowly giving up.It would be days I would come home from school and see him sitting in his chair just wasting away it got so bad for me to see, I would go to the track, Cry, and run off the pain I felt for him.I was losing myself in away too.

It was time for me to get away and that I meant time to go on my class trip I felt so relieved I left all my worries behind me.I didn’t really call home much because I didn’t want to worry about anything at home while I was away.By the time I knew it I had to return home.The night I came back my sisters picked me up I was shocked because one of my sisters lived in New York and was out here I didn’t know what I was in store for.But they took me to get something to eat and told me they had to tell me something.My heart dropped I tried to think positive but I was expecting the worst.

The Words ” Dad Is” came out my sister’a mouth is my heart got sunk deeper down.She said “Dad is in the hospital he went into cardiac arrest “.I couldn’t stop crying I cried the whole way home and all I could think about was if something happened to him it would be my fault because I wasn’t there and

I didn’t even call.I blamed myself for him being there. I wasn’t the same I couldn’t go see him but I would hear he was doing better.It wasn’t fair I couldn’t see him.I finally did get to see him but he wasn’t awake the doctor said he had fell asleep.Then when I got to see him again I just knew that was the last time I felt it in my heart.A week later me and brother were picked up from school early and our Aunt told us on the way home My dad had passed early that morning.I looked at my brother he was silent and I just froze.I got home and ran upstairs slammed my door cried,yelled,& blamed myself for h being gone.The next day I went to school thinking I could hold it together I cried the whole day I had to go home early.

I wrote all I could do was write because the way I felt I just couldn’t speak on it.My dad was really gone and I couldn’t believe it.He had been in my life since birth and now he was gone.I felt hurt because I was going to prom and graduating the week after and he wasn’t gonna be there.I was more than hurt I was disappointed in him but I shouldn’t have felt like that.

20140108-104101.jpg<br /

A few months after my mom went Into the hospital because she wasn't feeling well.To find out she had Lymphoma Cancer and had to get surgery immediately.The look on her face was unbearable she took me in the bathroom and told me she didn't think she could do it.And we prayed and I told her to do it for us Mom "Do it for your kids".My sister signed the papers and my mom got surgery.

Each week it was something different she had to get done.She couldn't eat, talk, or walk.She had to start all over.It was me and my siblings job to get her back on her feet.She wasn't progressing and we were told she might never be the same.Week after week we would come visit her,walk with her, and talk with her we were determined to get her back up and moving.It was a long process but she pulled through by the grace of God and by the time we knew it she was home.Of course she couldn't go back to work immediately but she was gonna get back to it sooner than later.

20140108-104207.jpg

After almost losing her life she has taken her health more serious.Still today she lives with Lymphoma Cancer and is fight the battle of it everyday.

17 thoughts on “Daddy Left Me,But Mommy Saved Me

  1. I’m sorry for your loss. It’s not easy losing a parent. I lost my father when I was 18, but it was because he walked away from my life. As the years passed by I heard he passed away in Puerto Rico. I never saw him again. I had some good and bad memories of him. My mother passed away in 2005. She was everything to me. The world was so pleasant when she was alive. I couldn’t see life in the same way again. Even though we had so many disagreements I loved her so much. She died in my arms in the nursing home. She was very ill. She had emphysema and COPD all the years of smoking had taken a toll on her. Cherish the days you have with your dear mother. These are the days that you will always remember very dearly. Love her and always keep her in your heart. Give your mother a hug for me and for all of us that have lost ours. May your dear mother live all of her later years. Keep her safe. Love her. Mothers are very special.

    • Im sorry for you lost.I glad that you shared your story with me it is very heart touching.Thank I appreciate every moment with her that we share. I sure will give her an hug for all of you. Thank you for taking the time out to read my blogs and share yours with me.

  2. My heart was broken reading this. I know how much I love my Daddy. I am sorry for your family’s loss. One of my favorite quotes of all time is “God gave us memories so we can have June roses in the Decembers of our lives”. So it is when a loved on dies or is sick, or when we ourselves are struggling. Thank you for sharing such a personal part of your life with us. Please give your Mom a GREAT BIG CYBER HUG from me. šŸ™‚

  3. Wow, I admire your strength so much and just know that God absolutely never carries you to a place and doesn’t keep you. You wouldn’t have faced these trails if you couldn’t handle them and if they weren’t for a reason. God bless.

  4. Even though I have heard these words from you before, reading it gave me chills. I see the hurt girl in your words. I see the unanswered questions in your words. I see the pain in your words. But I also see the strength, the survivor, the mature young woman in your words. I salute you for your courage to continue on with a smile on your face through the adversity you have endured. I salute you for the courage to continue to have faith in God after the troubles you have dealt with. You are my inspiration..

  5. You are a strong woman and very courageous. My heart goes out to you and your family. I believe this too shall past. Your father will forever be with you and your mother will pull through. God has something special in the works. šŸ™‚

  6. I believe all things work together for good for them who love God. Ironically, I kinda dreamt early this week that I’ll lose my dad soon and severally the thought has been with me. I told myself I wasn’t gonna cry. I don’t know why I did that because my dad is such a nice person and the most selfless human I’ve seen (he has a masters degree yet he’ll offer to take some time off his work to do manual work for people he maybe just met without collecting a dime) but I guess I’ve gotten tired of crying. Sorry to hear about your dad’s health failing after he visited Nigeria. Nigeria is a tough place. I should know. I’ve lived in Nigeria all my life. For someone like you who has faith in God, you know weeping endures for a night and joy comes in the morning. Share that with your Ma. She looks lovely in that pic. Cancer couldn’t even remove the light from her face.

Leave a Reply

